Excel: Drop-down Column Headers

Hi Friends!

Today I will show you how to create drop-downs for your columns in Excel. I like it more than sorting, because you can sort by a value, or values, and exclude all other data. It’s another really quick tip.

If you have a column or more that has just a lot of repetitiion, e.g. seven possible categories, filtering helps. I did that with my tips catalog. I keep a running “master” of all the posts I do, so I like to filter them by category. That way I can quickly see how evenly I’m spreading my attention to each topic.

Here’s how to do it:

1.   Select one or more column header(s)

2.   Click on the Data tab

3.   Click on “Filter” (the funnel icon)

Now you have drop-down arrows for each column. I’m not sure why you can’t filter just select columns.

Here’s a tip on using the drop-downs: Notice that you have the option to choose to sort the list or more than one item in the list (see below). To select one or just a few items, click the “select all” checkbox to deselect the whole list. Then check each item you wish to see exclusively.

And there you have it! That’s filtering.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment

Filed under MS Excel

Leave a Reply

